Intelligence vs. Knowledge.

An intelligent person is naturally deductive. He or she knows how to use logical thinking to draw parallels to current situations, think Sherlock Holmes. A knowledgeable person is someone who has — through repetition — learned something and who can now apply that knowledge. Intelligence is inborn, knowledge isn’t. Then again, it takes certain people to be really good at math just like it takes certain people to be good at writing, music, language, philosophy or art. To say, for example, that all of these individuals except the mathematician lack intelligence, is not only terribly arrogant but it’s also far from reality. It would be like me saying that you’re mentally deficit for not being able to play all of Bach’s Goldberg variations. Every individual is different. Especially in terms of our interests and personality. This of course in-turn shapes our personal proficiency in many areas. One of the worlds best neurosurgeons was once quoted claiming that the pyramids were created to store grain. A very ignorant thing to say, for such a smart man.

But moving on from this viewpoint, and on to something vague and personal.

What really brings me down is the amount of people I’ve spoken to that claim themselves to be incapable of most pursuits, simply due to their failure in one subject. This is a terrible way of approaching things. Many immediately assume that they cannot develop an understanding towards any complex book, subject, or language ー simply because they failed at something similar in the past. Or maybe it’s just an excuse to not try. But if they had truly tried, I doubt they would have failed in the first place. 

I believe the issue is fear of no progression. Maybe they don’t want to feel unintelligent, or maybe it’s a simple lack of motivation, but they are capable. I truly believe that they are, primarily because I want to, but objectively speaking: In reality, they’ve yet to even prove it to themselves. Who am I to say that they could?

Only recently have I began to understand the way my own mind works. Only recently have I realized my own goals. Admittedly, it took a lot of self-reflection and I’m sure it’s a different experience for everyone. Honestly, I have no clue how those around me think. It truly is hard to grasp.

But I believe that learning patience is probably, universally, the hardest part. It’s much easier to sit down and continuously log 200 hours into Final Fantasy X, than it is to sit down and work through mathematics for a night. At least that’s how I feel.

Writing/language on the other hand. I find it very easy and even fun to sit down and work through, night after night. For me; it’s a past-time like any other. Same with reading. I could read a book on mathematics for possibly hours at a time, without straining myself. And while this does help me to understand mathematics, it really doesn’t mean much if I’m not practicing the problems and applying them. I just have a hard time actually enjoying the application of it. But nevertheless, I’m still working on self-control.

Hell, all high-school level maths, and even Some lower college level maths. It barely takes a lick of real intelligence. All you’re doing is memorizing concepts that have been proven and written down by others. You memorize and then apply it. This is knowledge. Unless you’re actually outside of the tether, thinking for yourself, theoretics and such, you’re not really required to have “intelligence.” At least nothing above the average adult.

I think more than anything, you just have to know where to start with learning the basics. And then from there, it’s a slow climb to the peak. This applies to anything and everything. Also helps to have the confidence and drive required to push yourself. Without passion for what you’re learning, I doubt you’ll ever get anywhere. But the point is that anyone can acquire any skill to any degree, so long as they’re of course willing to dedicate themselves, their time, possibly their entire life.

I’m not even a very intelligent person in terms of practicality. At the very least, I would never openly claim to be. I simply “know” things. Even if one’s I.Q is supposedly, say, 136, this doesn’t necessarily mean anything. Overall, this number is arbitrary. Unless one wishes to achieve something no one else has, it will never really mean anything nor can one prove their own Intelligence. You could fall within the I.Q level of a supposed “genius,” and whilst that may stroke ego, It still doesn’t help with the majority of your life. Often times I imagine it’s a hindrance.

For the above reasons, I believe it would not be justified to boast about things such as I.Q or other forms of measured intelligence. Really, there’s no reason to bring it up, It would only serve to make one look like an absolute cunt. If one wishes for people to see them as intelligent, they should like to do so through their actions and thoughts. But regardless, “Knowledge” is all that truly matters in day-to-day life. Intelligence may help you to understand the underlying concepts of what you learn, but unless you’re trying to truly innovate in your field, it’s really not going to do much for you. Critical thinking rarely does anything more than cause needless depression and anxiety in day-to-day life: Speaking from experience. If you constantly contemplate everything around you, it tends to cause disturbances within your perception of reality.

Being “analytical” in this society is a burden in innumerable ways. It’s a constant reminder that you’ll never be happy or find comfort. Most people just don’t relate or care to anything you take interest in. But again, we’re all different. Different views. Different interests. Different views on morality, etc.

Hypocrisy and contradictions as far as the eye can see.

Personally speaking: Within 5 years, I hope to have passed the point of self proclaimed pseudo-intellectualism and reach at least a graduate level in all of my studies. I would like to strip myself of all unnecessary thoughts and doubts. Focus. I’d like to be a poly-math of sorts. I’d like to rely on no one, but to have others rely on me. To focus solely on myself and use this to help others. I realize how potentially narcissistic this sounds, but it’s how I honestly feel.

Leave a Reply

